all-around-luna

all-around-luna

White Lies - AB Brussels - 19/10/2016

Such a rejuvenating gig !

 

 

001 White Lies.JPG

 

 

 

Flashback…The White Lies formed circa 2008 in West London and got launched through their hit song/album « To Lose My Life ». That much I knew when I got invited to this gig. Now, let’s be honest, I didn’t really know what to expect… Perhaps the best recipe for having fun ?

 

The band’s core band memebers are Harry McVeigh (lead vocals, guitar), Charles Cave (bass guitar and backing vocals), and Jack Lawrence-Brown (drums). Their influences are eighties synth bands and you may think of Tears for Fears/Pale Shellter or (early) Depeche Mode songs but with a darker mood. McVeigh's singing voice has been compared to that of Ian Curtis and their music to Interpol’s but they claim they’re more uplifting than that. They sure are!

 

 

 

 

They might seem like an « old band » because they’ve been around for almost a decade. But all of the band members are still in their twenties now and so is their crowd ! Don’t get me wrong, there’s still the occasional older person in the venue, me included. But most of the audience look like young Luke Skywalker when he found out about princess Leia... Only in the now : Millenials!!!! But not any millenials ! Those with taste in music and a foot outside the audio soup they bathe in every day.

 

Truth is, the band is still so popular the tickets sold out in no time. So they added a second date in AB/Brussels to please their fans and I suspect part of the crowd attended both events. There I was, second night, second setlist. The band decided to play oldies and crowd’s favorites alongside songs from their new album. And, you know, the audience got crazy about it.

 

I could gently point out that there’s not a super great deal of variety in their repertoire. I guess it’s exactly what makes you love them  : they deliver what you expect with moments of real brilliance. Standing at the gig, I felt lifted up and started to sing choruses I had never heard of, jumping up and down with my hands in the air. Suddenly I sort of wished it never stopped !

 

Last night, I was a truly happy 19 years old millenial and I’ve loved it !

 

 

002 White Lies.JPG

 

 

 

http://whitelies.com/

 

https://www.facebook.com/WhiteLies/

 

 


 

Keep on running

Keep keep on running

There's no place like home

There's no place like home

 

 

© 2016    



20/10/2016
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Arts & Design pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 18 autres membres